Points of interest…
- Advertised SLPA rates span roughly $30 to $70 an hour.
- Per-visit pay can leave travel, documentation and cancellations unpaid.
- School district postings show about $25 to $48 hourly, often for 10 months.
Why SLPA pay estimates disagree, and how to judge the real value of a job offer

Why would one SLPA posting pay $30 to $35 an hour while another offers $60 to $70? A 37-year-old career-changer with 15 years in group homes asked exactly that on r/SLPcareertransitions while weighing a one-year SLPA program.
Both rates can be accurate. The spread usually reflects what the hour covers: direct treatment only, or also drive time, documentation and cancellations. Setting, state and contract type widen it further, and those factors decide whether the one-year credential pays off.
The figures here are U.S.-centric, and Bureau of Labor Statistics numbers are approximate 2025 data. Ontario offers, quoted in Canadian dollars, need their own math.
Job postings promise anywhere from $30 to $70 an hour, while federal wage data points to a much lower and tighter range. Knowing where the federal numbers land gives you a sturdy baseline before you weigh any single offer.
The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not publish a dedicated line for speech-language pathology assistants. The nearest proxy is Healthcare Support Workers, All Other, a catch-all category that covers about 109,740 workers and can include roles beyond SLPAs. Treat it as a rough floor-and-ceiling guide, not an exact SLPA figure.
Here is that category, with hourly rates estimated by dividing each annual figure by 2,080 (a full-time, year-round schedule):
That hourly conversion is the useful part. A posting that advertises $30 to $35 an hour sits at or just above the top quarter of this proxy group. A $60 to $70 posting is far outside it, which is a signal to ask what the rate actually covers.
For context, BLS reports a national median of $97,870 for speech-language pathologists, with a 25th percentile of $77,730 and a 75th percentile of $114,570. The median works out to roughly $47 an hour. So the proxy SLPA median is about half of the SLP median.
These figures come from BLS data reflecting 2025, so they are approximate and a little behind today's market. Expect current offers to differ, especially by state and employer.
You will also see other websites quote very different SLPA averages, some higher and some lower than the proxy above. Those estimates rarely agree because each website samples different workers and defines pay differently.
One job seeker on Reddit, a 37-year-old weighing a one-year SLPA program, found postings advertising $30 to $35 an hour alongside others offering $60 to $70. Both can be accurate. The difference usually comes down to who collected the number, what it counts, and which job it actually describes.
Each source answers a different question:
The Reddit poster asked the right follow-up: does a $60-an-hour role pay only for time with clients, or also for driving, documentation and cancellations? That distinction often explains much of the spread between a $30 rate and a $70 one. To compare effective earnings instead of headline rates, you need to understand how contract and per-visit pay works.
Federal wage data does not track SLPAs as a separate occupation, so the closest state-level proxy is the broader Bureau of Labor Statistics group for other healthcare support workers, which includes SLPAs alongside other roles. Treat these figures as directional: by this measure the District of Columbia, Washington and Alaska lead, while Colorado, Vermont and Oregon sit at the lower end of the states shown. For a direct SLPA benchmark, ASHA's 2021 survey reported median hourly rates of $28 for full-time and $29.50 for part-time assistants.
| State | Employment (broader group) | 25th Percentile | Median Annual Wage | 75th Percentile | Mean Annual Wage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| District of Columbia | 400 | $58,800 | $73,590 | $100,850 | $75,170 |
| Washington | 3,140 | $53,890 | $62,040 | $71,120 | $63,250 |
| Alaska | 120 | $55,820 | $61,300 | $70,210 | $63,810 |
| Massachusetts | 1,680 | $46,370 | $58,340 | $69,200 | $59,020 |
| Delaware | 110 | $51,830 | $57,760 | $67,150 | $59,100 |
| New York | 5,470 | $45,740 | $56,510 | $64,250 | $57,220 |
| Kansas | 240 | $45,910 | $54,830 | $61,610 | $54,240 |
| New Mexico | 450 | $44,350 | $52,170 | $57,550 | $51,520 |
| Idaho | 220 | $41,660 | $52,160 | $60,860 | $50,990 |
| Nevada | 1,280 | $45,880 | $50,790 | $61,760 | $54,240 |
| Wyoming | 180 | $38,640 | $49,940 | $54,090 | $48,670 |
| Oklahoma | 540 | $42,060 | $49,940 | $57,840 | $50,590 |
| Arizona | 3,070 | $40,160 | $49,940 | $62,710 | $53,540 |
| Indiana | 590 | $46,430 | $49,900 | $58,990 | $52,840 |
| South Carolina | 860 | $38,610 | $49,730 | $57,350 | $50,500 |
| New Jersey | 2,640 | $39,800 | $49,600 | $60,500 | $52,040 |
| California | 23,590 | $48,360 | $49,130 | $62,770 | $56,100 |
| Maine | 420 | $43,210 | $49,100 | $58,280 | $50,700 |
| Hawaii | 1,400 | $39,950 | $48,620 | $52,560 | $47,800 |
| Illinois | 1,330 | $39,570 | $48,360 | $60,300 | $51,210 |
| Tennessee | 1,230 | $37,540 | $47,940 | $57,970 | $49,470 |
| Rhode Island | 290 | $45,700 | $47,600 | $59,550 | $52,100 |
| Oregon | 2,650 | $45,530 | $47,510 | $56,680 | $50,920 |
| Vermont | 300 | $41,570 | $47,370 | $58,740 | $49,710 |
| Colorado | 2,650 | $41,020 | $47,330 | $55,800 | $49,850 |
School district SLPA postings quote pay by the hour worked, while per-visit arrangements, reported as the main pay method by 6.8 percent of respondents to ASHA's 2025 SLPA survey, pay for each completed session, so drive time between homes, session notes and late cancellations may fall outside the paycheck unless the contract says otherwise. The postings and survey results below show rates but do not spell out whether documentation, travel between sites or cancelled sessions are paid, so ask every employer directly how that indirect time is handled before you compare hourly figures. Treat the school figures as single-posting snapshots from a few districts and the clinic, hospital, skilled nursing and private practice numbers as broad survey ranges rather than setting-specific benchmarks.
| Setting | Typical Pay Structure | Reported Pay Range | Paid Indirect Time? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Public schools: School District 49, Colorado | Hourly rate | $29.69 to $37.41 per hour | Not stated in posting |
| Public schools: North St. Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale Schools, Minnesota | Hourly pay scale, depending on qualifications | $31 per hour | Posting lists preparing materials and visuals as duties; whether that time is paid is not stated |
| Public schools: Moorhead School District, Minnesota | Hourly | $26.64 to $32.36 per hour | Not stated in posting |
| Public schools: Soliant staffing posting, Minnesota | Hourly (staffing agency placement) | $22.05 to $42.05 per hour | Not stated in posting |
| Public schools: Glencoe school district, 2025-2026 agreement | Hourly salary schedule | $19.23 to $23.65 per hour on published schedule excerpts, plus an extra $2.00 per hour for SLPAs | Not stated in agreement excerpt |
| Public schools: district SLPA jobs, Downey, California | Hourly wages | $24.52 to $36.25 per hour for most workers | Not stated in listings |
| All settings, including clinics, hospitals, skilled nursing facilities and private practice (ASHA 2025 survey) | Both hourly pay and annual salary reported | $20 to $95 per hour for hourly respondents; $6,600 to $120,000 per year for salaried respondents | Not stated in survey excerpt |
| All settings (ASHA 2021 survey) | Full-time annual salary and part-time hourly pay reported | $46,000 per year full-time; $29.50 per hour part-time | Not stated in survey excerpt |
So how much do SLPAs make in schools? The honest answer depends on how many months the paycheck covers. Recent district postings show hourly rates from about $25 to $48 and monthly pay in the low-to-mid $5,000s, but school-year schedules mean those rates don't translate into a clinic-style 52-week income.
Start with Arcadia Unified, which labels its SLPA assignment as 10 months at 7 hours a day, paying $5,253 to $5,792 per month. Assuming that monthly figure is paid for each of the 10 working months, the annual total is roughly $52,530 to $57,920. Spread across 12 months, that equals about $4,380 to $4,830 a month.
Hourly postings need a different calculation. Here is a worked example with labeled assumptions:
The hourly rates look similar, yet the annual gap is large. That gap is the core reason to compare offers by the year.
The postings reviewed don't describe extended school year (ESY) or summer work, so don't assume it exists. Ask directly. Your options usually fall into three groups:
District pay ranges typically span salary steps, and Lincoln and Tehama County tie placement to verified experience. Benicia's $34.83 to $44.09 is a starting range under its CSEA agreement. Tehama's range runs from $31.49 to $48.38 an hour, with a $5,000 signing bonus (2-year commitment) and degree stipends from $300 for an AA to $1,500 for a PhD.
Benefits can narrow the gap with clinic pay. Arcadia contributes $12,798 a year toward health premiums and lists 13 paid holidays. Tehama's county-paid Health and Welfare contribution reaches up to $22,548 a year. Castaic and Benicia explicitly include CalPERS pension enrollment2, while Dixon says not every posting qualifies. St. Cloud ties benefits to at least 30 hours a week and excludes temporary or seasonal roles.1 Out-of-pocket premiums still vary by plan and coverage level, so read the benefits summary before you compare.
Travel and contract SLPA pay is usually not a single hourly number. A weekly rate may be built from a small taxable wage plus tax-free living allowances, so the headline can look far higher than what lands in your bank account as regular income.
Many travel staffing companies pay W-2 employees a combination of taxable hourly wages and non-taxable housing, meals, and incidental stipends. One common example from travel therapy pay guides splits a $2,100 weekly package into about $880 of taxable wages at $22 per hour for 40 hours, plus roughly $1,220 in non-taxable stipends.5 Housing stipends often fall between $900 and $1,400 per week depending on location, and meals and incidentals per diems can range from about $68 to $92 per day under the latest federal tables. The IRS decides whether those allowances are tax-free, not the agency, so you may need a qualifying tax home and temporary assignment.
A posting that quotes $60 to $70 an hour for SLPA work may pay only for direct client contact, leaving documentation time, travel between clients, and cancellations unpaid. The Reddit poster who asked whether high rates cover only direct treatment is asking the right question. Some employers do pay for all time worked, including indirect duties, while others pay only for billable treatment minutes. There is no universal rule, so ask the employer to put the definition of paid time in writing.
Weekly rates become useful only when you know how many weeks you will actually work. A school travel SLPA posting in Richmond, VA, lists about $1,666 to $1,717 per week; across a 36-week school year that is roughly $60,000 to $61,800 before considering gaps between contracts. The same weekly rate for 42 weeks is about $70,000 to $72,100. If you assume two or three weeks of unpaid time between contracts, subtract that from annual projections.
Ask for the guaranteed-hours clause and cancellation policy in writing. Travel contracts commonly guarantee 36 to 40 hours per week, and a few sources state that low census does not reduce pay when a guarantee is in place. Also confirm whether the role is W-2 or 1099. Most travel therapy agencies use W-2 employment and handle payroll taxes, benefits, licensing, and travel; a 1099 independent contractor typically pays self-employment tax, buys their own benefits, and carries more unpaid administrative work. That difference can make a lower W-2 hourly rate more valuable than a higher 1099 rate.
Two SLPA offers with the same hourly rate can leave you with very different take-home pay, depending on how you're classified. Use this side-by-side to see who handles taxes, benefits and expenses under each arrangement before you compare numbers.

How much more does an SLPA earn after a few years on the job? Less than most people hope, and no one publishes a clean answer. BLS does not break SLPA pay out by experience, and ASHA's 2026 Schools Survey measures SLPs, not assistants.2 What follows is a cautious picture, not a pay schedule.
ASHA reports that school-based SLP pay rises with experience, though "not in a straight line." In 2026, the most- and least-experienced school SLPs differed by $24,410 a year.1 That figure is not an SLPA wage, but it hints at the shape. For assistants, the general pattern is a bigger jump early, when you move from new hire to independent caseload, then small step raises or cost-of-living adjustments. Because the role has a fixed scope, pay tends to plateau after several years unless you change setting or credential.
No national dollar or percentage premium has been established for any of these, so treat them as levers to ask about, not guarantees:
BLS has no SLPA line, so the closest catch-all is "Healthcare Support Workers, All Other," with a median of $48,430 and a middle range of $39,470 to $59,710. Treat it as a rough proxy only. Speech-Language Pathologists have a median of $97,870, with a middle range of $77,730 to $114,570. That is a gap of about $49,000 at the median, and even the proxy's 75th percentile sits below the SLP 25th percentile. The practical ceiling for an SLPA is real.
SLPA programs vary widely. CSU Northridge's certificate is 130 hours, completed in one semester. CSU East Bay lists 5 to 8 months at about $5,200 in tuition. Abilene Christian lists 8 to 16 months, and College of DuPage estimates $12,176.87 to $12,816.87 for its 64 to 68 credit program, plus clinical requirements. These are examples, not national averages.
A master's takes longer and costs more, and you then complete supervised clinical work before full practice. Costs depend on the school, so compare real tuition quotes.
If you might do both, ask programs whether SLPA coursework or fieldwork transfers toward graduate admission.
A posted hourly rate tells you very little on its own. Two offers at the same number can differ by thousands of dollars a year once you account for which hours get paid and which expenses come out of your pocket. Work through the same checklist for every offer.
It depends entirely on the setting. A school-based or clinic-based assistant may work from one building all year. Early intervention, home health and itinerant roles can mean several addresses a day, which is exactly where unpaid travel time quietly erodes a high headline rate. Telepractice does exist for assistants in some settings, but it is not the default, and availability varies by employer and by state or provincial rules. Ask directly rather than assuming a posting that mentions flexibility means remote work.
In Ontario, the role is usually titled communicative disorders assistant, though job ads also use SLP-A, therapy assistant or speech assistant.1 CDAs work under the supervision of a speech-language pathologist or audiologist, serving children, youth, adults and families across school boards, hospitals, preschool programs, rehabilitation centres and private clinics.2 U.S. federal wage statistics do not apply here.
Pay structure varies sharply by employer type. A unionized CDA posting at KidsAbility listed $27.68 to $30.80 per hour for a full-time, 37.5-hour schedule.3 Private clinic listings run much higher: $45 to $50 in Oshawa, around $50 in Vaughan and North York4, $50.21 at one clinic5, and $60 to $75 for part-time work in Kitchener6. Those higher figures may reflect billable clinical hours rather than every working hour, and the postings do not specify what non-direct time is covered. The Ontario market is also described as competitive.7
1. Which hours are paid: only direct client contact, or documentation, travel and meetings too? 2. What happens to my pay when a client cancels? 3. How many guaranteed hours per week, and over how many weeks per year?