Skip to content

The Best Master's in Speech-Language Pathology (MSLP) Degrees for 2027

CAA-accredited MSLP programs ranked on cost, outcomes, and clinical quality to guide your SLP career

By Benjamin Thompson, M.S., CCC‑SLPReviewed by SLP Editoral TeamUpdated August 29, 202621 min read
Best Master’s in Speech-Language Pathology Programs 2027

Points of interest…

  • Fully online MSLP programs deliver coursework remotely while arranging local clinical placements, with hybrid options excluded from our top ten list.
  • Most master's programs run 50 to 66 credits, putting total tuition between roughly $20,000 and $60,000 depending on the school.
  • A master's degree is the entry-level clinical credential required for SLP licensure in nearly every state.
  • Salary and demand vary by setting and region, so cross-check Bureau of Labor Statistics and ASHA data before committing.

Demand for speech-language pathologists keeps climbing, driven by aging populations, expanded school services, and growing awareness of communication disorders. The gateway to the profession is a master's degree from a program accredited by ASHA's Council on Academic Accreditation, which qualifies you for state licensure and the CCC-SLP credential.

This guide focuses on fully online MSLP programs, ranked on a quality composite, with hybrid options excluded so distance learners get a clean comparison. You'll find our picks in The Best Fully Online MSLP Programs for 2026, plus practical sections on admissions, curriculum, tuition, slp salaries, and answers to common questions about earning the degree.

The Best Fully Online MSLP Programs for 2027

These MSLP programs deliver the academic portion of a speech-language pathology master's fully online, allowing you to stay in your community while completing clinical experiences locally. Hybrid options that require weekly campus attendance did not make this list. Each university profile highlights what sets the school apart, including typical net price and institution-wide graduation rates, so you can compare programs with a clear view of cost and outcomes.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Earnings ten years after entry
  • Tuition adjusted for local costs
  • Accreditation and licensure alignment
  • Online delivery and clinical preparation
Data sources
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Independent program research
  • IPEDS institutional survey data from NCES — nces.ed.gov
  • Bureau of Economic Analysis cost-of-living index by state — bea.gov
  • College Scorecard graduate earnings — collegescorecard.ed.gov

San Jose State University

#1

San Jose, CA · $10,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: California residents seeking local clinical placements

San Jose State has prepared speech-language clinicians in the Bay Area for more than 50 years, and its online master's keeps that local focus through fieldwork at community sites. The 66 unit MS is delivered through online academic courses in a small cohort, a structure that fits students who need California-focused preparation. Its institution-wide graduation rate is 69 percent, a broad university statistic rather than a completion figure for this graduate program. The typical net price after aid is about $13,760, and the program accepts applications without GRE scores.

ASHA accredited
  • CAA-accredited; ASHA certification and California licensure eligible
  • 66 total units; online small-cohort coursework
  • No GRE required; 3.0 GPA minimum
  • Fall and spring admission windows
  • Clinical practicum at local fieldwork sites
  • Separate Cal State Apply and CSDCAS applications

California State University-San Marcos

#2

San Marcos, CA · $10,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Working professionals needing evening online coursework

California State University San Marcos built its online MSLP specifically with working professionals in mind, pairing asynchronous coursework with weekly synchronous evening Zoom sessions. The 76 unit, three-year cohort structure moves through eight consecutive semesters and places students in clinical settings from the first summer. The university's institution-wide graduation rate is 55 percent, a campus-wide metric that does not describe SLP students, and the typical net price after aid is about $10,229. Graduates log 400 supervised clinical hours and are academically eligible for ASHA certification and California licensure.

ASHA accredited
  • 3-year, 76 unit cohort format
  • Combines asynchronous coursework with weekly evening Zoom sessions
  • Starts in fall and requires full-time commitment
  • 400 supervised clinical hours across four placements
  • Specialty clinics and capstone defense included
  • Prepares for California SLP license and ASHA academics

Northwestern University

#3

Evanston, IL · $55,000/yr

Best for: Research-oriented learners seeking an elite university setting

Northwestern offers an online Master of Science in Speech, Language, and Learning through its School of Professional Studies, a path designed for students who cannot relocate to Evanston. The two-year program does not require prerequisites to be finished at application, and prerequisite coursework must be completed with a B- or better once admitted. Northwestern's 95 percent institution-wide graduation rate is the highest among these options, though it reflects undergraduates across the university, not completion in this online graduate program. The typical net price after aid is about $29,167.

ASHA accredited
  • Two-year online curriculum through School of Professional Studies
  • Prerequisites not required at application
  • B- or better required in prerequisite coursework
  • 25 observation hours required
  • Clinical experiences included in the curriculum
  • No face-to-face post-baccalaureate program offered

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

#4

Greensboro, NC · $9,000/yr

UNC Greensboro's online Master of Arts is one of the more geographically accessible SLP options on this list; program materials say it can enroll students from all 50 states and Puerto Rico. Coursework is primarily asynchronous, with 66 credit hours arranged into five full-time semesters and clinical experiences woven throughout. The university's institution-wide graduation rate is 56 percent, a broad metric that is not a program-specific SLP completion rate. The typical net price after aid is about $10,965.

ASHA accredited
  • ASHA CAA-accredited; prepares for CCC and state licensure
  • 66 credit hours over five full-time semesters
  • Primarily asynchronous online coursework
  • Clinical experiences in diverse settings
  • Accepts students from all 50 states and Puerto Rico

University of Nebraska at Kearney

#5

Kearney, NE · $8,000/yr

The University of Nebraska at Kearney provides a slower, more flexible route to SLP practice through a 56 credit online MSEd that runs across nine part-time semesters. It is a practical choice for applicants who cannot leave home for an on-campus cohort, and leveling coursework is available for those who did not study communication disorders as undergraduates. UNK's institution-wide graduation rate is 58 percent, a school-wide number rather than a program completion statistic, and the typical net price after aid is about $16,242.

ASHA accredited
  • 56 credit hours; part-time, nine-semester plan
  • Online delivery with practicum and internship experiences
  • CAA-accredited; eligible for ASHA certification
  • Leveling coursework for non-CSD undergraduate majors
  • Covers diagnostics, motor speech, dysphagia, voice, and fluency
  • Fall admission with January 15 deadline

West Virginia University

#6

Morgantown, WV · $11,000/yr

West Virginia University's online MS is tailored to speech-language pathology assistants and others who already have an individualized clinical plan, which gives it a clear place in the career-ladder market. Students complete academic coursework at a distance, with optional campus activities, over seven to ten semesters starting in summer. WVU's institution-wide graduation rate is 65 percent, and the typical net price after aid is about $15,634; those university-level figures should not be mistaken for SLP cohort outcomes.

ASHA accredited
  • ASHA-accredited; 400 supervised clinical hours
  • Designed for SLP assistants or individualized clinical plans
  • Full-time or part-time enrollment available
  • Summer start; seven to ten semesters
  • Online coursework with optional campus activities
  • Requires 3.0 GPA, assessments, and final project

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

#7

Eau Claire, WI · $11,000/yr

The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire's online option is built for students who prefer a three-year, part-time path, with a short summer residency in Wisconsin adding an on-campus checkpoint. Clinical training takes place at the UWEC Speech and Language Clinic or across more than 90 off-campus sites in the Upper Midwest and beyond. The program reports strong completion and Praxis outcomes, while the university's institution-wide graduation rate is 64 percent and its typical net price after aid is about $16,550. Remember that the 64 percent figure covers the institution, not this online graduate program.

ASHA accredited
  • Online part-time plan; three-year timeline
  • Short summer residency in Eau Claire required
  • Placements at UWEC clinic and 90+ off-campus sites
  • Thesis or capstone option
  • Reported 100% licensure pass rate

Western Kentucky University

#8

Bowling Green, KY · $12,000 – $18,000/yr

Western Kentucky University's online Master of Science in Communication Disorders comes with a defined Speech Language Pathology concentration and a CAA accreditation that supports ASHA certification preparation. Coursework totals 60 credit hours and includes a six-week summer internship, and clinical settings can include hospitals, schools, nursing facilities, private clinics, and community agencies. WKU's institution-wide graduation rate is 56 percent, a university-level figure that is not specific to this master's program. The typical net price after aid is about $10,990.

ASHA accredited
  • 60 credit hours in an online format
  • Speech-Language Pathology concentration
  • Six-week summer internship required
  • CAA-accredited; meets ASHA certification requirements
  • February application deadline
  • Designed for schools, hospitals, clinics, and nursing facilities

West Coast University-Orange County

#9

Anaheim, CA · $15,000 – $20,000/yr

West Coast University Orange County offers a 20-month online Master of Speech-Language Pathology with asynchronous coursework, two weekend on-site intensives, and virtual skills labs. Students complete 400 supervised clinical hours with ASHA-certified SLPs while receiving faculty mentorship and career services support. The university is a CAA candidate rather than fully accredited, so prospective students should confirm how that status is treated in the states where they plan to practice. Its institution-wide graduation rate is 60 percent, and the typical net price after aid is about $32,879.

  • 20-month, 56 credit curriculum
  • Asynchronous online classes; two weekend on-site intensives
  • 400 supervised clinical hours arranged near students
  • Virtual skills labs and high-fidelity manikin simulations
  • Faculty mentor for every student
  • Pre-MSLP pathway for students with missing prerequisites

Maryville University

#10

Saint Louis, MO · ~$16,000/yr (est.)

Maryville University's 57 credit online MS is a five-semester option with January and August starts, giving students two chances per year to begin. Coursework is delivered fully online, while clinical practicums in the final three semesters are coordinated in person with help from a dedicated clinical coordinator. Maryville's institution-wide graduation rate is 66 percent, a university-level number that is not a completion rate for the SLP program. The typical net price after aid is about $22,066, and no GRE is required for admission.

ASHA accredited
  • 57 credits completed over five semesters
  • January and August start dates
  • No GRE required; 3.0 GPA minimum
  • Prerequisite bachelor's in communication sciences or equivalent coursework
  • Clinical practicums in the final three semesters
  • Dedicated clinical coordinator and personalized mentorship

How We Ranked the Top MSLP Programs

Our list focuses on fully online slp programs at the master's level, so hybrid options that require regular on-campus attendance are not included here. The goal is to surface programs that working adults and geographically constrained students can realistically complete from home, while still meeting the academic standards expected of a clinical graduate degree.

What Goes Into the Ranking

We build a quality composite from a handful of objective inputs, drawing primarily on federal College Scorecard data:

  • Graduation rate: How reliably the institution gets students across the finish line.
  • Net price: The average yearly cost after grants and scholarships, so sticker shock does not skew the picture.
  • Program completions: How many SLP master's degrees the school actually awards, which signals an established program rather than a brand-new offering.
  • Program-level earnings and debt: Median earnings shortly after graduation and median debt at completion for SLP master's graduates, when reported.

Where the Data Falls Short

No public dataset captures everything that matters in a clinical field like speech-language pathology, and we want to be upfront about that. The graduation rate we use is institution-wide rather than specific to the MSLP program. Net price reflects a broader sector average for graduate students at the school, not the exact cost of the SLP track. And Praxis pass rates, the single best indicator of clinical preparedness, are not part of our dataset.

What to Verify With Each School

Before you apply or enroll, confirm a few things directly with the program. If you are still building a shortlist, our broader directory of accredited speech language pathology programs is a good starting point.

  • ASHA CAA accreditation: Required for ASHA certification and most state licenses.
  • Current Praxis pass rates: Programs publish these annually, often on a student outcomes page.
  • On-time completion rates: Ask how many students finish in the program's stated timeframe.

What Is a Master's in Speech-Language Pathology?

A Master's in Speech-Language Pathology (MSLP) is the entry-level clinical credential for the field. In nearly every state, you cannot work as a licensed speech-language pathologist without one. The degree prepares you to evaluate and treat communication, language, voice, fluency, cognitive-communication, and swallowing disorders across the lifespan, from infants in early intervention to adults recovering from stroke.

The Degree and Its Accreditation

Most MSLP programs take two years of full-time study, though some part-time and extended online formats run two and a half to three years. Coursework typically covers anatomy and physiology of speech and hearing, language development, articulation and phonology, fluency, voice, dysphagia, neurogenic disorders, audiology, and research methods, paired with on-campus clinic rotations and external placements.

When you compare speech-language pathology degree programs, look for accreditation by the Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (CAA), which operates under the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA). Graduating from a CAA-accredited program is what makes you eligible for national certification and, in turn, state licensure.

If You Did Not Major in CSD

Applicants without an undergraduate degree in Communication Sciences and Disorders (CSD) are usually welcome, but most programs require leveling or prerequisite coursework first. These bridge courses, sometimes called post-baccalaureate or SLPA prerequisites, cover the foundational CSD content your peers already have. Some universities build leveling directly into a three-year MSLP track.

The Path from Admission to Licensure

The full route to practice generally looks like this:

  • Earn your CAA-accredited MSLP, completing roughly 400 supervised clinical hours during the program.
  • Pass the Praxis Examination in Speech-Language Pathology.
  • Complete a paid Clinical Fellowship (CF), typically nine months of supervised practice.
  • Apply for ASHA's Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC-SLP) and your state license.

Once those steps are complete, you can practice independently as an SLP. If you are still weighing career paths, see our guide on becoming a speech pathologist for a fuller breakdown of roles and settings.

MSLP Admissions: GPA, GRE Waivers, and Prerequisites

Master's in speech-language pathology programs are competitive, and admissions committees evaluate applicants on a familiar set of academic and experiential benchmarks. Knowing what's expected, and where flexibility exists, can help you build a stronger application for the 2026 cycle.

GPA and Prerequisite Coursework

Most MSLP programs set a minimum undergraduate GPA of 3.0, though admitted students often present averages closer to 3.3 or higher at competitive programs. If your undergraduate degree is in communication sciences and disorders (CSD), you've likely already covered the core prerequisites: phonetics, anatomy and physiology of speech and hearing, language development, audiology, and an introductory SLP course. Programs like Nova Southeastern University's MS-SLP, for example, expect a 3.0 minimum and require six CSD prerequisite courses before matriculation.

Applicants without a CSD background aren't shut out. Many universities offer bridge or leveling pathways, sometimes called post-baccalaureate or second-degree tracks, that let career changers complete the missing foundational coursework before (or alongside) graduate study.

The GRE Waiver Trend

The GRE has lost ground as a gatekeeping requirement. Roughly 70% of MSLP programs no longer require the GRE for 2026 admissions, and several others have moved to test-optional or waiver-based policies. If standardized testing is a sticking point, it's worth reviewing dedicated no gre mslp programs before finalizing your list. James Madison University's online MSLP, for instance, waives the GRE for applicants who already hold a master's degree, while LSU Health's MSLP offers waivers for the 2025-2026 cycle based on GPA, personal statement, and interview performance.2

A handful of programs still require scores. Northeastern University's MSLP, for example, expects minimum GRE results of 152 verbal, 150 quantitative, and 4.0 analytical writing. Always check each program's current policy directly.

CSDCAS, Deadlines, and Supporting Materials

Most programs use CSDCAS, the centralized application service, which opens in August 2025 for the 2026 cycle. Submitting four to six weeks ahead of a program's deadline is recommended to allow time for transcript and reference verification. Deadlines fall into three patterns: early (October to December 2025), standard (January to February 2026), and rolling.

Beyond transcripts and the application itself, expect to submit two or three letters of recommendation, a personal statement, a resume, and documentation of observation hours (often 10 to 25 hours shadowing a certified SLP).

MSLP Tuition and the Cheapest Online Programs

Sticker tuition is only part of the story for online MSLP students. Most master's programs in speech-language pathology run 50 to 66 credits, so a published per-year graduate tuition can translate into anywhere from roughly $20,000 to $60,000 in total tuition over two to three years. Out-of-state rates also matter for online learners, since some public universities charge non-residents the higher figure even when coursework is fully remote, while others (like the University of Akron) keep online tuition closer to the in-state rate.

SchoolStateGraduate Tuition (In-State)Graduate Tuition (Out-of-State)Average Net PriceProgram Credits
University of North Carolina at GreensboroNC$8,614$23,329$10,96566
San Jose State UniversityCA$9,934$20,014$13,76066
University of AkronOH$10,125$15,885$13,946Not specified
Idaho State UniversityID$11,522$30,632$12,193Not specified
Western Kentucky UniversityKY$12,140$18,340$10,99060

SLP Salaries, Top-Paying Settings, and Career Outlook

Salary and demand for speech-language pathologists vary widely by setting, region, and experience. Rather than relying on a single number you saw quoted somewhere, build your own picture from a few authoritative sources. Here is how to do that efficiently.

Start With BLS Wage Data

The Bureau of Labor Statistics publishes the most reliable national wage figures for speech-language pathologists under occupation code SOC 29-1127. On BLS.gov, look for the Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics page for this occupation. You can filter by:

  • Industry: Compare wages across elementary and secondary schools, hospitals, nursing care facilities, offices of other health practitioners, and home health services.
  • Geographic area: Drill down to state and metropolitan area wage estimates to see what SLPs actually earn where you plan to live.
  • Top-paying metros: The BLS lists the highest-paying metro areas, which often surprise people and may shift your job-search radius.

Pay attention to the median wage and the 10th to 90th percentile range. The spread tells you how much room there is to grow with experience and credentials. For a quick orientation before you dig into the raw tables, our overview of salary of speech language pathologists summarizes typical ranges by setting.

Check the Career Outlook

For projected demand, consult the BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook entry for speech-language pathologists. It publishes a 10-year employment projection, expected number of annual openings, and a plain-English discussion of what is driving demand (an aging population, earlier identification of speech and language disorders in children, and growing awareness of stroke and neurological recovery needs). If you want to translate those projections into actual hiring patterns, our guide to speech language pathology jobs walks through where the openings tend to cluster.

Use ASHA and Peer-Reviewed Sources

The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) publishes its own salary surveys broken out by setting, role, and years of experience, plus position statements on emerging issues. If you are weighing how artificial intelligence might affect the field, ASHA's site is the best starting point, followed by recent commentary in peer-reviewed journals like the American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology and Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools.

Triangulate With Real Job Postings

Finally, cross-check national figures against real-world listings. Search school district HR pages, hospital career portals, Indeed, Glassdoor, and your state job board for posted SLP salary ranges in your target city. Local demand and setting (schools versus hospitals versus private practice versus travel contracts) can swing compensation by tens of thousands of dollars, and posted ranges give you the most current ground truth before you negotiate.

Frequently Asked Questions About MSLP Degrees

Choosing a master's in speech-language pathology raises a lot of practical questions about cost, format, salary, and admissions. The answers below pull from ASHA standards, Bureau of Labor Statistics data, and common program requirements to help you weigh your options.

What is the best university for speech pathology?
There is no single best program. The right MSLP for you depends on factors like CAA accreditation, format (online or on-campus), tuition, clinical placement support, Praxis pass rates, and state licensure alignment. Any program that earns ASHA-aligned accreditation through the Council on Academic Accreditation prepares graduates for the CCC-SLP credential, so fit and outcomes matter more than rankings.
How much does a master's in speech-language pathology cost?
Total tuition typically ranges from about $30,000 at lower-cost public programs to well over $100,000 at private universities. Online MSLP programs often fall in the middle, with per-credit tuition between roughly $700 and $1,500. Add fees, clinical placement costs, books, and living expenses when budgeting, and ask each program about graduate assistantships and federal aid eligibility.
Can you get a master's in speech pathology online?
Yes. A growing number of CAA-accredited universities offer fully online or hybrid MSLP programs, with coursework delivered remotely and supervised clinical hours arranged near the student. Online programs hold the same accreditation standards as on-campus options, so graduates qualify for ASHA certification and state licensure. Confirm that the program supports placements in your state before enrolling.
What is the highest-paying SLP job?
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, speech-language pathologists working in nursing and residential care facilities and in home health services tend to earn the highest median wages, often above $100,000 annually. SLPs in hospitals also earn strong salaries, while school-based roles typically pay less but offer benefits like school-year schedules and pension eligibility.
Will SLP be replaced by AI?
No. Speech-language pathology requires clinical judgment, hands-on assessment, and human relationships that AI cannot replicate. The Bureau of Labor Statistics projects faster-than-average job growth for SLPs through 2033, driven by aging populations and expanded school services. AI tools may assist with documentation, screening, or therapy practice between sessions, but licensed SLPs remain responsible for diagnosis and care.
Can I get an MSLP without a CSD bachelor's degree?
Yes. Many MSLP programs accept applicants from other majors, but you will need to complete leveling or prerequisite coursework in communication sciences and disorders before or during the program. Some universities offer an online post-baccalaureate or bridge sequence covering phonetics, anatomy, language development, and audiology. Plan for extra time and tuition if you take this route.

More Online MSLP Programs to Consider

If you are still weighing your options, this directory of additional online MSLP programs can help you find the right fit. Each entry includes location, format, and a brief overview to support your comparison. Explore these programs and visit their websites for the most up-to-date details on admissions, curriculum, and cost.

Idaho State University
Idaho State University offers a Master of Science in Speech-Language Pathology with both a 24-month campus path and a 36-month online path. The ASHA-accredited program includes academic coursework and clinical practicum experiences across educational and medical settings.
  • Master of Science in Speech-Language Pathology
Pocatello, ID · Online
University of Scranton
The University of Scranton's Master of Science in Speech-Language Pathology is delivered via distance learning, blending online coursework with clinical experiences. The 63-73 credit program prepares students for ASHA certification and emphasizes evidence-based practice.
  • Speech-Language Pathology, Master of Science (Healthcare Specialization)
  • Speech-Language Pathology, Master of Science
Scranton, PA · Online
University of Northern Colorado
The University of Northern Colorado offers an online Master of Arts in Speech-Language Pathology requiring 34 core credits plus clinical practicum and internship credits. Students must visit Greeley for one summer, and the program covers articulation, language, voice, fluency, and neurological disorders.
  • Speech-Language Pathology M.A. - Online Program
Greeley, CO · Online
University of Akron
The University of Akron's Master of Arts in Speech-Language Pathology is a collaborative distance learning program with the University of Cincinnati. The 2-year 8-month online program includes asynchronous coursework and clinical placements within 50 miles of students' hometowns.
  • Master of Arts in Speech-Language Pathology
Akron, OH · Online
Jacksonville University
Jacksonville University offers a Master of Science in Speech-Language Pathology with a part-time online distance education option taking eight semesters. The 60-credit program includes two full-time clinical placements and is accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation.
  • Master of Science in Speech Language Pathology
Jacksonville, FL · Online
The University of Montana
The University of Montana's Master of Science in Speech Language Pathology offers both on-campus and distance options. The 68-71 credit program includes at least 375 supervised clinical hours and covers speech, language, literacy, swallowing, and hearing disorders.
  • Master of Science in Speech Language Pathology
Missoula, MT · Online
Ithaca College
Ithaca College provides an online Master of Science in Speech-Language Pathology with a General Pathway for students with a communication sciences background. The part-time 53-credit program can be completed in 2.7 to 3.7 years with no on-campus residency required.
  • Master of Science in Speech-Language Pathology (MS-SLP)
Ithaca, NY · Online
Delaware Valley University
Delaware Valley University offers a fully online Master of Science in Speech-Language Pathology that can be completed in as little as 20 months. The program is open to applicants with any bachelor's degree and includes clinical externships, with a low student-faculty ratio of 4:1.
  • Master of Science in Speech-Language Pathology
Doylestown, PA · Online

Recent Articles