Points of interest…
- Clinical practicum stays in person, even in fully asynchronous SLP programs.
- Expect about three to five years from first prerequisite to licensure.
- SLPs earned a $97,870 median wage in 2025, per BLS.
What "asynchronous" means, how prerequisites and placements work, and who gets in

Career changers keep asking in a thread titled online SLP programs for someone changing careers on r/slpGradSchool whether a genuinely online route into speech-language pathology exists. The short answer in 2026 is a qualified yes, because "online" almost never means "fully remote." Coursework in online speech pathology programs can be flexible, but supervised clinical practicum stays in person, and most programs still schedule some live sessions.
The tension is practical: a master's degree, a clinical fellowship, and CAA accreditation are required for ASHA certification regardless of how lectures are delivered. For someone with a non-CSD bachelor's degree, the real constraints are prerequisites, placement logistics, and whether a job can survive the schedule.
In online speech-language pathology, "asynchronous" is a narrower promise than it sounds, especially compared with online SLP master's programs with synchronous classes. You are not getting a self-paced degree; you are getting flexible coursework attached to supervised clinical training that will always be live.
A program can market itself as "online" while still requiring weekly live evening classes or a multi-day on-campus residency. That is common because immersive SLP clinical training in speech-language pathology is regulated and relationship-driven. Coursework may be asynchronous, but many programs keep live case discussions and simulation labs to prepare you for in-person therapy.
Fully asynchronous is rare in accredited SLP master's programs because supervised clinical work is live by definition. Even when didactic coursework is fully recorded, practicum hours with clients happen in real time under a licensed supervisor. For career changers, the practical question is not whether everything can be asynchronous. It is what flexibility exists around the live requirements.
"Online" covers a wide range in SLP graduate education, from coursework that is primarily asynchronous to programs built around scheduled live classes or required campus visits. The table below draws on each school's official program pages; where a page does not address a detail, we say so rather than guess. Confirm live-session schedules and admission rules directly with admissions before you apply, since these details can change from cohort to cohort.
| Program | Delivery Format | Live Session Frequency | In-Person / Residency Requirements | Typical Length | Accepts Non-CSD Applicants |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UNC Greensboro, M.A. in Speech-Language Pathology (online) | 100% online coursework, primarily asynchronous | Not stated on program page | Not stated on program page | 5 semesters full-time (66 credits) | Not stated; no leveling pathway described |
| Ithaca College, Online M.S. (General Pathway) | 100% online | Not stated on program page | No on-campus residency | 8 semesters (about 2 years, 9 months) | Yes, with a bachelor's in any field plus one completed SLH leveling prerequisite |
| Ithaca College, Online Leveling Pathway | 100% online | Not stated on program page | No on-campus residency | 11 semesters part-time (about 3 years, 9 months), including a first year of six foundational SLH courses | Yes, designed for applicants without a CSD or SLH background |
| New England Institute of Technology, M.S. in Speech-Language Pathology | Mix of synchronous online classes and asynchronous coursework | Some live classes held at specified times, which may fall during the day or evening | Not stated on program page | About 30 months | Not stated on program page |
| James Madison University, Online M.S. | Online coursework completed in a cohort | Not stated on program page | Not stated on program page | About 3 years (9 semesters), typically 2 to 3 courses per semester | Not stated on program page |
| James Madison University, Residential M.S. | On campus for the first 3 semesters, then asynchronous online for the final 2 | Not stated on program page | On-campus attendance required for the first 3 semesters | Typically 5 semesters | Not stated on program page |
| NYU Steinhardt, Online M.A. in Speech-Language Pathology | Online | Not stated on program page | 2 on-campus clinical immersions in New York City | Not stated (48 graduate credits plus 7 online foundation courses) | Not stated; the foundation courses suggest some foundational coursework is built in |
| Rutgers University, M.S. in Speech-Language Pathology | Full-time in person (not an online program) | First year on campus Monday through Friday; second year includes one online evening class per week | Full on-campus attendance in year one, then externships in year two | 5 consecutive semesters (about 2 years, 65 credits) | Not stated on program page |
Prerequisites are the undergraduate communication sciences and disorders (CSD) courses that SLP master's programs expect you to complete before, or sometimes alongside, graduate study. If your bachelor's is in English, business, psychology, or another field, you can still become a speech-language pathologist. You will just need these SLP prerequisites first, or a program that builds them into your plan of study.
Most programs look for some version of these areas:
Exact lists vary. Some programs add neuroscience or an introduction to disorders, and ASHA certification also expects coursework in biological sciences, chemistry or physics, statistics, and social or behavioral sciences. Check each program's prerequisite page rather than assuming one list fits all.
There is a real trade-off. Finishing coursework first gives admissions committees grades in CSD-specific classes, often the strongest evidence a career changer can offer, and it opens the full range of standard master's programs. The cost is time, since leveling can take a year or more before you submit a single application.
Applying with courses in progress, or choosing a combined track, can get you into a cohort sooner. Many programs accept applicants with a few courses outstanding as long as they finish before the start date. If your undergraduate GPA is modest or your science background is thin, finishing first usually pays off. If your record is strong and one program clearly fits, a combined track may save you a full application cycle.
Most career changers need foundational communication sciences and disorders (CSD) coursework before or during an SLP master's, and the route you choose determines how and when you apply. Use this comparison to match your academic background to a pathway, then confirm each target program's exact prerequisite list, because requirements vary from school to school.
| Pathway | What It Is | Best For | How It Connects to Master's Admission | Main Trade-Off |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Post-baccalaureate leveling program | A structured sequence of undergraduate CSD foundation courses, such as phonetics, speech and hearing anatomy, and language development, often offered online | Career changers with no CSD background who want a cohort, advising, and a clear course sequence | Completed before you apply, which makes you eligible for traditional two-year master's programs | Adds time and cost before graduate school, and finishing it does not guarantee admission |
| Individual leveling courses | Only the specific CSD courses you are missing, taken one at a time through universities that offer open enrollment | Applicants from related fields like psychology, linguistics, or education who already have some prerequisites | Some programs accept courses in progress at the time of application, while others require completion before you enroll | You must check each program's list yourself, with less built-in advising |
| Extended or transitional master's | A master's program that builds the prerequisites into the degree, typically adding extra terms to the standard timeline | Career changers who want one application and one continuous program | You apply directly to the master's without completing CSD coursework first | Longer graduate enrollment, foundation courses billed at graduate tuition, and fewer programs to choose from |
| ASHA general education courses | Standalone coursework in biological science, physical science (chemistry or physics), statistics, and social or behavioral science required for ASHA certification | Anyone whose first degree did not include these areas | Some programs require them before admission and others before graduation, but all are needed for certification | Easy to overlook until a transcript review flags a gap late in the process |
| Second bachelor's in CSD | A full undergraduate degree in communication sciences and disorders | Applicants who want a complete foundation or a fresh academic record to strengthen a graduate application | Fully satisfies CSD prerequisites for most master's programs | Usually the longest and most expensive route |
Can you earn an SLP master's entirely from home? No. Even in programs where every lecture is asynchronous, SLP clinical placements are face-to-face, supervised, and scheduled on someone else's calendar. For career changers who chose an online format specifically because they cannot relocate or stop working, this is usually the hardest surprise in the whole process.
This varies enough between programs that it should be one of your first questions. James Madison University's online M.S. is explicit: the program coordinates placements and secures the affiliation agreements, and students are instructed not to contact potential sites on their own without approval. Students collaborate on location, but the program drives the process. JMU also requires a six-week on-campus practicum in Harrisonburg, Virginia, during the summer after the first year, and advises that later placements may involve a commute of roughly 60 to 90 minutes.
Rutgers structures its master's around two full-time SLP externships, with placements concentrated in New Jersey.1 Rutgers' distance learning disclosure notes that students living outside the state may need a clinical site outside their home state and may have to travel, depending on whether a suitable site is available nearby.2 Other programs expect students to identify local candidate sites and then route them through the university for vetting and contracting.
A placement is not approved just because a clinic nearby says yes. The site needs an affiliation agreement with the university, and the supervisor has to hold the right credentials. JMU requires the supervising clinician to hold the CCC-SLP certification and be licensed in the state where they practice, which means an out-of-state placement must also satisfy that state's licensure and site-approval rules. Programs rarely publish a hard cap on out-of-state placements; the limit is practical, built from contracting capacity and supervisor availability.
If no suitable site can be secured, programs generally do not promise a substitute or a timeline. The realistic outcome is a delayed semester, which is worth asking about directly rather than assuming.
ASHA's 2020 certification standards require 400 supervised clinical hours: 25 observation and 375 direct contact. The 2027 standards keep the 400-hour total but restructure it, including 325 hours at the graduate level and 250 in-person direct contact hours. JMU counts 375 clinical hours toward graduation and allows up to 75 simulation hours, so confirm how your program's graduation math lines up with certification math.
Ithaca College is the clearest cost benchmark right now. It publishes a single per-credit rate for both its standard online master's and its leveling track, so you can see exactly what the extra prerequisite credits add for career changers. Most other schools here have not published comparable 2026 per-credit, total, and fee figures in one place, so treat this table as a starting point and confirm current numbers, plus federal loan eligibility for part-time or online enrollment, with each school's financial aid office before you apply.
| Program | Type (Leveling / Master's) | Per-Credit Cost | Approximate Total Tuition | Notable Fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ithaca College, Online M.S. in Speech-Language Pathology | Master's | $1,091 | $57,823 (53 credits) | No separate mandatory fee published; tuition is subject to change and figures are guidelines. File the FAFSA with Ithaca to access federal loans. |
| Ithaca College, Online M.S. in Speech-Language Pathology (Leveling Track) | Leveling | $1,091 (same rate as the standard track) | $77,461 (71 credits, part-time over 11 semesters) | No separate mandatory fee published; tuition is subject to change. Federal, PLUS, and alternative bank loans are listed as options. |
| Northwestern University, Prespeech Pathology | Leveling | Billed per course (current rate not published) | Varies by how many courses you take (at least 3 required) | The regular academic-year rate also applies in summer; students may apply for federal financial aid. |
| PennWest University, Online M.S. in Speech-Language Pathology | Master's | N/A | N/A (60 credits) | No on-campus service fees; many students qualify for competitive non-resident tuition. Scholarships, grants, federal aid, and payment plans are available. |
| New England Institute of Technology, M.S. in Speech-Language Pathology | Master's | N/A | Set out in the enrollment agreement | Books and materials are billed separately. Certification exam and Praxis fees, plus travel to clinical immersions in East Greenwich, RI, are the student's responsibility. |
A career changer should plan for roughly three to five years from first prerequisite course to licensed SLP, and the clinical fellowship at the end is the piece most people underestimate.
Build your expectations around ranges, not promises. Speech pathology prerequisites for non-majors typically take one to two years, depending on how many courses you need and whether you study part-time. The master's itself usually runs two to three years, with faster options possible. After graduation comes the clinical fellowship, generally about nine months of full-time supervised practice (or longer if you work part-time). Stacked end to end, that lands most career changers in the three-to-five-year window.
Working while in SLP grad school is manageable during the prerequisite phase and the early didactic terms of a master's, especially if you spread coursework part-time. The friction point is clinical placements. Practicum hours almost always require daytime availability, because schools, hospitals, and clinics operate during business hours. That reality collides hard with a 9-to-5.
Be honest with yourself: working full-time through placement semesters is difficult and, for many people, not sustainable. Plan for it.
Accelerated online SLP programs can shorten the master's, but read the fine print. Faster didactic coursework does not shrink the clinical hours ASHA requires, and compressed programs often demand more intensive, daytime placement blocks. Before you enroll, ask exactly how an accelerated track handles practicum scheduling, not just how quickly you finish classes.
For most career changers, the path to practicing as an SLP runs about 3.5 to 5 years from the first prerequisite course to full certification. The ranges below are typical estimates and vary by program, pace, and state.

According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2025 Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, speech-language pathologists earned a national median of $97,870, and the middle half of earners fell between $77,730 and $114,570. These are approximate national wages for the occupation as a whole, not promised outcomes for any program's graduates, and early-career pay may sit closer to the lower percentiles depending on your setting and region. To weigh the tuition and leveling costs from the cost table above, compare your total expected spending and borrowing against the 25th percentile figure rather than the median, and treat postsecondary health specialties teaching (a faculty path that often requires a doctorate) as a longer-term option with a much wider pay range.
| Occupation | U.S. Employment | 25th Percentile Annual Wage | Median Annual Wage | Mean Annual Wage | 75th Percentile Annual Wage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Speech-Language Pathologists | 183,390 | $77,730 | $97,870 | $98,170 | $114,570 |
| Health Specialties Teachers, Postsecondary | 221,270 | $75,690 | $107,310 | $147,570 | $210,370 |
Short answer: yes, CAA-accredited SLP programs can be online, and accreditation, not delivery mode, is what counts toward ASHA certification. A graduate of an accredited online program follows the same route to the CCC-SLP Certification as a graduate of an on-campus one.
ASHA certification requires a master's degree from a program that is CAA-accredited or a CAA candidate. Confirm the status of any program you are considering on the ASHA/CAA program listing, and ask the admissions office directly as well. Marketing language like "ASHA-aligned" is not the same thing as accreditation.
The sequence is the same for everyone:
ASHA's 2027 standards add timing windows, including a five-year limit on how old a Praxis pass can be at application and 24 months to begin the CF. Career changers who plan to pause between phases should review those rules closely.
The CCC-SLP is a national certification from ASHA. Your state licensing authority, not ASHA, decides who may legally practice there. Many states build on the ASHA framework, but SLP license requirements by state differ on application steps, jurisprudence exams, background checks, supervised-practice rules, temporary licenses, renewal, and telepractice. Holding the CCC-SLP does not guarantee automatic licensure everywhere.
Portability is improving. The Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Interstate Compact (ASLP-IC) has been enacted in 37 jurisdictions.1 It lets a licensee in good standing in one member state apply for a compact privilege to practice in another, provided they meet eligibility rules such as ASHA-recognized education, a passing Praxis score, and a supervised CF.2 Enactment does not mean every state is operational yet, and the privilege is not automatic.
Before you enroll, read your own state board's requirements. If you might relocate, check the target state's rules too.
Will an old GPA and a non-CSD bachelor's degree keep you out of an SLP master's program? Usually not by themselves. Seats are still limited, though, so how you present your background matters as much as your numbers.
Career changers often arrive with things recent graduates are still building: years of professional communication, comfort with clients or patients, project management, and the maturity to juggle work, family, and coursework. Teachers, nurses, linguists, and customer-facing professionals all have transferable skills. Your statement of purpose should connect that experience to speech-language pathology with specifics. Describe a moment that pulled you toward the field, then show proof of follow-through, such as observation hours or strong leveling grades. Committees want evidence that the switch is deliberate and that you understand the clinical work ahead.
Published SLP grad school GPA requirements mostly fall between 2.75 and 3.25:
The GRE has largely faded. JMU, ETSU3, WVU1, Maine6, and Memphis7 no longer require it. SUNY Fredonia waived it4 and Cal State East Bay did not require it for Fall 20268. St. John's treats it as optional5, and Loyola University Maryland does not review scores at all9. Policies can change between cycles, so confirm for your entry term.
Prerequisite timing varies more than most applicants expect. Loyola Maryland lets non-CSD applicants finish prerequisites before enrolling rather than before applying9. Many programs don't state their timing clearly, so ask admissions directly before you plan your leveling schedule.
Be skeptical of rankings built on high acceptance rates. Most programs don't publish rates consistently, and many remain competitive. A lower GPA floor or a no-GRE policy is not the same as easy admission. Ease of entry also tells you nothing about quality or accreditation. Whatever you apply to should hold accreditation from the Council on Academic Accreditation, because that affects your path to licensure.
Many programs use fixed deadlines. JMU's is January 15, and your application must be complete and verified in CSDCAS, with the supplemental materials submitted. BGSU's is December 1510. Cal State East Bay's department deadline typically falls in mid-January, with next-cycle details posted October 18. Rolling admission exists at some schools, and where it does, applying early improves your odds among slp programs with rolling deadlines. New programs have their own timelines: McDaniel's CSDCAS application deadline is July 18, 2026, for a first cohort in summer 202711.
A practical sequence: finish leveling courses and observation over the summer, request transcripts and recommendations in early fall, draft your statement in October, and submit by late November. That leaves time for CSDCAS verification before December and January deadlines.
Before you apply, ask each admissions office these questions. Clear answers will tell you whether an online program fits your schedule, budget, and licensure plans.